Camping, Glamping, Trending: These are the Glamping Trends 2022

09.08.2022
7 minutes
glamping-trends-2022

glamping is on everyone's lips and one of the most popular forms of vacation in recent years. Now he goes Luxury tent vacation to the next round. 

That's especially true in the last few years luxury camping , which actually comes from the USA, has become a real megatrend, to the delight of glamping tent manufacturers, of course. In 2022, too, the enthusiasm for glamping will not level off and the "travel trend" will continue. 

While initially "glamorous camping" could only be found on campsites, mobile homes or in dedicated glamping resorts, the popular ones are luxury tents also available in hotel gardens, in the middle of the forest or by the lake anywhere in Europe. Popular destinations for glamping holidays are Italy, the Netherlands, Austria and Germany. But the trend has already arrived in Africa and across the entire Alps. 

In addition, any glamping accommodations are constantly being expanded, reconsidered and optimized. Some glamping sites even offer a whirlpool, playgrounds or a slide paradise. Exceptional accommodations such as luxury tents in the form of lounges, igloos, tiny houses, yurts, tree houses, wigwams, sleeping barrels, tipis and safari tents serve as dwellings.

The top glamping trends of 2022

  • Glamping in the hotel

One of the most popular trends in 2022 is glamping in the hotel. Many hotels have gardens or other green areas that are not used or only insufficiently used. In order to create additional accommodation capacities and to find sustainable solutions for unused space, Glamping has recently established itself in the hotel.

Glamping lounges in a wide variety of facilities are integrated into the hotel's operations and equipped in such a way that guests have the comfort of a hotel room in the middle of nature - almost an outdoor hotel. Unlike normal camping holidays, glamping in the hotel is not only suitable for summer holidays, but also works perfectly in winter.

  • Glamping in your own garden

Especially due to the still ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, many people resort to holidays at home. Instead of going on a trip, some want to buy a glamping tent and put it in their garden. There you can set up the glamping lounges individually and use them as often and as long as you like. If you don't want to sleep in it, you can actually convert it into a home office room.

  • Tipi instead of holiday home

Some glamping operators currently rely on tipis. These are traditional tent houses that have already been used by the indigenous people of America. These are usually made of robust fabric and have become a popular alternative to the typical holiday home, giving the glamping a very special flair.

  • Glamping in the treehouse

A glamping experience of a special kind is glamping in the treehouse. For those who want to go high, there is now the opportunity to stay in a luxurious tree house. Because glamping in the treehouse is becoming more and more popular. The fully equipped huts, which can be reached by ladders, convince with a very special charm.

  • Glamping at festivals

Double bed instead of sleeping mat is now the motto at festivals! Who doesn't know it: You would really like to go to a festival, but have absolutely no desire to sleep in a 4-man tent next to hundreds of other visitors. And what to do when it rains? Since tents can usually only withstand rain for a short time, it can easily happen that your entire luggage gets soaked. That's why some festival operators are now relying on glamping. Depending on the provider, the glamping tents are sometimes even windproof and waterproof, and a lot more robust and private than normal tents. Even the Oktoberfest is going glamping this year.

  • Multi purpose glamping

Less a trend for vacationers, more a trend at hoteliers or campsite operators is not only to integrate the luxury tents into their operations as additional space, but simply to convert them if necessary. This is why some glamping lounges are allowed to be "hotel rooms" for one week, and the next they are converted into private dining locations or relaxation rooms by the pool. This is also in the spirit of sustainability, because individual tents can be used for several purposes and are therefore never empty.

  • Glamping as a workspace

Glamping as a workspace may sound a bit strange at the beginning, but has certainly become a new trend, as you can easily see from the many social media posts. In times when many employees increasingly work from home and are only digitally connected with the other employees of the company, "Remote Work from Abroad" or "Work Action" (working on holiday) has become increasingly popular. The so-called digital nomads, i.e. people who carry out their work mainly using digital tools, often transfer their work to a distant place of their choice and into nature. More and more glamping is being used for this purpose. Thus, the workers are:inside in the fresh air, and at the same time they can rely on the luxurious furnishings of a hotel room or workplace.

Sustainability in particular is becoming more and more important in tourism and new solutions are constantly emerging to make this industry more ecological in the long term. Glamping is a step in the right direction to make your next vacation at least a little bit greener.


Share now


Lisa Neureiter

BA Lisa Neureiter

Head of Marketing

Camping, Glamping, Trending: Das sind die Glamping-Trends 2022

09.08.2022
7 Minuten
glamping-trends-2022

Glamping ist in aller Munde und eine der beliebtesten Urlaubsformen der letzten Jahre. Nun geht der Luxus Zelt Urlaub in die nächste Runde. 

Gerade in den letzten Jahren ist das Luxus-Camping, das eigentlich aus den USA stammt, zum wahren Megatrend geworden, natürlich zur Freude der Glamping-Zelt-Hersteller. Auch 2022 flacht die Begeisterung rund um das Glamping nicht ab und der “Travel Trend” geht weiter. 

Während "Glamorous Camping" ursprünglich nur auf Campingplätzen, Mobilheimen oder in speziellen Glamping-Resorts gefunden werden konnte, sind die beliebten Luxus-Zelte auch in Hotelgärten, mitten im Wald oder am See überall in ganz Europa verfügbar. Beliebte Reiseziele für den Glamping-Urlaub sind Italien, die Niederlande, Österreich oder Deutschland. Aber auch in Afrika und über die kompletten Alpen ist der Trend bereits angekommen. 

Zudem werden etwaige Glamping Unterkünfte laufend ausgebaut, neu überdacht und optimiert. Manche Glampingplätze bieten sogar einen Whirlpool, Spielplätze oder ein Rutschenparadies. Als Behausungen dienen außergewöhnliche Unterkünfte wie Luxus Zelte in Form von Lounges, Iglus, Tiny Houses, Jurten, Baumhäuser, Wigwams, Schlaf-Fässer, Tipis sowie Safarizelte.

Die Top-Glamping-Trends 2022

  • Glamping im Hotel

Einer der beliebtesten Trends im Jahr 2022 ist Glamping im Hotel. Viele Hotels haben Gärten oder andere Grünflächen, die nicht oder nur unzureichend genutzt werden. Um zusätzliche Übernachtungskapazitäten zu schaffen und nachhaltige Lösung für ungenutzten Raum zu finden, hat sich neuestens Glamping im Hotel etabliert. 

Glamping Lounges in verschiedensten Ausstattungen werden dafür in den Hotelbetrieb integriert und so ausgestattet, dass die Gäste den Komfort eines Hotelzimmers mitten in der Natur haben - quasi ein Hotel im Freien. Anders als gewöhnlicher Campingurlaub ist Glamping im Hotel nicht nur für Sommerurlaub geeignet, sondern funktioniert auch bestens im Winter.

  • Glamping im eigenen Garten

Vor allem aufgrund der noch immer andauernden COVID-19 Pandemie greifen viele Menschen auf Urlaub Zuhause zurück. Statt eine Reise anzutreten, wollen einige ein Glamping Zelt kaufen und es in ihren Garten stellen. Dort können sie die Glamping Lounges individuell einrichten und so oft und so lange nutzen, wie sie möchten. Wer einmal nicht darin schlafen will, kann sie tatsächlich auch zu einem Home-Office-Raum umfunktionieren.

  • Tipi statt Ferienhaus

Einige Glamping-Betreiber setzen derzeit auf Tipis. Das sind traditionelle Zelt-Häuschen, die bereits von der indigenen Bevölkerung Amerikas genutzt wurden. Diese bestehen meist aus robustem Stoff und sind eine beliebte Alternative zum typischen Ferienhaus geworden, wodurch das Glampen einen ganz speziellen Flair bekommt.

  • Glamping im Baumhaus

Ein Glamping-Erlebnis der besonderen Art ist Glamping im Baumhaus. Denn für alle, die hoch hinaus wollen, gibt es mittlerweile die Möglichkeit in einem luxuriösen Baumhaus zu nächtigen. Denn Glamping im Baumhaus wird immer beliebter. Die voll ausgestatteten Hütten, welche durch Leitern erreicht werden können, überzeugen mit einem ganz besonderen Charme.

  • Glamping auf Festivals

Doppelbett statt Isomatte heißt es nun auf Festivals! Wer kennt es nicht: Man würde eigentlich sehr gerne auf ein Festival fahren, hat aber überhaupt keine Lust, neben hunderten anderen Besuchern zu 5. im 4-Mann-Zelt zu schlafen. Und was tun, wenn es regnet? Da Zelte Regen meist nur kurz standhalten können, kann es leicht passieren, dass das komplette Gepäck durchnässt wird. Deshalb setzen einige Festival-Betreiber nun auf Glamping. Die Glamping-Zelte sind je nach Anbieter teilweise sogar Windfest und wasserdicht, und um einiges robuster und privater als normale Zelte. Sogar beim Oktoberfest wird heuer auf Glamping gesetzt.

  • Multi-Purpose Glamping

Weniger ein Trend für Urlauber, mehr ein Trend bei Hotelliers oder Campingplatz-Betreibern ist, die Luxuszelte nicht nur als zusätzliche Raumkapazitäten in ihren Betrieb zu integrieren, sondern bei Bedarf schlichtweg umzufunktionieren. So kommt es, dass manche Glamping-Lounges eine Woche „Hotelzimmer” sein dürfen, in der nächsten werden sie zur Private-Dining Location oder zum Ruheraum am Pool umgebaut. Dies steht ebenso im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit, denn so können einzelne Zelte für mehrere Zwecke eingesetzt werden und stehen damit nie leer.

  • Glamping als Workspace

Glamping als Workspace mag zu Beginn etwas komisch klingen, ist aber durchaus zum neuen Trend geworden, wie man an den vielen Social Media Posts dazu unschwer erkennen kann. In Zeiten, wo viele Arbeitnehmer:innen mehr und mehr Homeoffice betreiben und nur digital mit den anderen Mitarbeiter:innen des Unternehmens in Verbindung sind, ist „Remote Work from Abroad” bzw. „Workaction” (Arbeiten im Urlaub) immer beliebter geworden. Die sogenannten Digital Nomads, also Menschen, die hauptsächlich anhand digitaler Tools ihre Arbeit ausführen, verlegen ihre Arbeit häufig in einen fernen Ort ihrer Wahl und in die Natur. Dafür wird immer mehr Glamping genutzt. So befinden sich die Arbeiter:innen an der frischen Luft, und gleichzeitig können sie sich auf die luxuriöse Ausstattung eines Hotelzimmers bzw. Arbeitsplatzes verlassen.

Gerade Nachhaltigkeit wird im Tourismus immer wichtiger und es tun sich fortlaufend neue Lösungen auf, um diese Branche langfristig ökologischer zu gestalten. Glamping ist dabei ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung, um den nächsten Urlaub zumindest ein bisschen grüner zu machen.


Jetzt teilen


Lisa Neureiter

BA Lisa Neureiter

Head of Marketing